Kiklop Award

In order to evaluate the publishing sector and related activities by applying high professional criteria, the Book Fair(y) in Istria established the annual Kiklop Award in 2004.


The Kiklop Award is granted in 11 categories:

− editor of the year
− fiction book of the year
− debutant of the year
− poetry collection of the year
− essay collection of the year
− publicist writing and popular science book of the year
− science book of the year
− picture book of the year
− children's book of the year
− foreign author's book of the year
− translation of the year

The Kiklop Steering Committee also gives out the Lifetime achievement award. So far, the laureates in this category were Aleksandar Flaker (2009), Slavko Goldstein (2010), Predrag Matvejević (2011) and Mirko Kovač (2012).

The 2013 Kiklop Award is given to publishers registered in the Republic of Croatia for literary achievements published between September 1st, 2012 and September 30th, 2013.